, , , , , , ,

Today Derek Vincent Smith, aka Pretty Lights released his anticipated album, A Color Map of the Sun. This release comes over two years since his last EP. This is the firsts of Derek’s albums composed entirely of original music rather than samples. His recordings were all recorded on Vinyl before being mixed using modular synthesizers.

As for the album, Derek is at his best when he focuses on the softer side of the electronic spectrum. “Yellow Bird” and “Press Pause” my two favorites, stay closer to the chilled and melodic melodies similar to Filling Up the City Skies (Disc 1). On the contrary, “Lets get Busy” is a harder, heavier song where the dubstep crunch loses all depth.

“Around the Block” is the featured single off the album, featuring Talib Kweli. It is the most enjoyable of the heavy tracks, Talib provides fresh vocals over a jazzy beat.

The album is available for a free download at: prettylightsmusic.com

The full album can be streamed here: